Christian/Catholic · Milo Yiannopoulos · the modernist church · today's society

RE: The Catholic Magazine Interview with Milo They Refused to Print

It’s no great secret that I’m a fan of Milo Yiannopolous. His charisma and his refusal to be afraid to mock political correctness delighted me, giving hope to a young woman who is still trying to learn not to be afraid to show the world who she is. I learned about him when I was going through a difficult time, still trying to figure myself out. (But that’s a story for another day.)

Unfortunately, I was recently very disappointed to see Milo, who had before proclaimed that he was against same-sex marriage, even though he was pursuing a homosexual lifestyle, change his mind recently. I still pray for him, of course. A Catholic priest remarked that Milo doesn’t have the usual obstructions to leaving his lifestyle that most homosexuals do, simply because he realizes the sin of his lifestyle. Therefore, I still have hope for him.

… which leads into our topic of the day. Milo just came out with a particularly zingy article and I just couldn’t help myself but post a short commentary on it.

Frankly, what’s really shocking is that a poor sinner like me has spoken out more on contraception than 99% of our bishops, who seem too preoccupied with diversity and climate change to talk about God.

I have heard many comments from people saying that Milo is a hypocrite for saying things like this whilst pursuing a homosexual lifestyle, but man, this guy is really good at pulling out the uncomfortable truths and putting them right in the faces of the real hypocrites here. It’s why I love Milo so much.

Facebook comment: If celibate priests don’t have much credibility on contraception with the majority of married heterosexuals, how much less credibility does a infamous [sic], promiscuous gay man have?

Me: I think the point he’s trying to make is that most priests refuse to tell their parishioners that contraception is wrong, or, even worse, they say it’s okay.

milo_youre-way-in-over-your-head-darlingThe point is that Milo is telling the truth. It doesn’t matter

who is saying it, it matters who is telling the truth.

One of the most famous saints of all time, sixteen centuries ago, prayed, “Lord, make me chaste, but not yet.”

Yes, Milo – but we all know (or should know) that this wasn’t the right attitude. That was the whole reason St. Augustine told us about his prayer – because he knows the darkness of human nature and how we need to learn to pray for the opposite.

Lord, make us chaste – now. In Your time, Lord, not mine.

 

I think it was a visit to New Orleans that inspired Evelyn Waugh to make an observation I often quote: Protestants seem to think, I’m good, therefore I go to church, whereas Catholics think, I’m very bad, therefore I go to church. Waugh also said, when people asked how he could call himself a Catholic: You have no idea how bad I’d be if I weren’t.

I absolutely love this quote. I just wanted to put it in for sharing purposes. (I still need to read Waugh.)

 

You don’t see me disputing the Church’s teachings on homosexuality. There’s no intellectual tension, because I wouldn’t dream of demanding that the Church throw away her hard truths just to lie to me in hopes I’ll feel better about myself. I love the truth, not lies, and I know no one’s feelings are the basis of truth.

I replied to a Facebook comment recently along this line of reasoning…

I’ve been following Milo’s career for a little while now and I’ve seen how uncomfortable he gets when he talks about his abuse as a child (though he desperately tries to cover it up with humour), the sadness and pain and frustration that he can’t always hide from the fact that he knows he isn’t following the Church’s teachings on homosexuality and that makes him unhappy. [e.g. saying that he’s sad that he won’t have children, that he knows he’s a sinner – insert multiple other examples that I don’t have at the top of my head right now.] I’ve heard from psychologists (including a Catholic psychologist) who have similar opinions.

 

A few other good comments I really enjoyed, on which I have nothing really more to add because Milo has said it all:

The Church was founded on a rock and a cross, not on a hug. 

[…] That’s why I think it’s sad that today’s feminists, as Chesterton observed, despise motherhood and all the other chief feminine characteristics. The idea that men and women shouldn’t be different — shouldn’t have different interests, strengths, and ways of relating to Creation — is insane, and it’s empirical fact that trying to deny these differences makes all of us less happy.

[…] Pope Benedict XVI is still the wisest and most erudite man in Europe, though I’m sure he doesn’t deserve to have me hung around his neck as an admirer.

[…] The truth often hurts, as the Church has always understood. That’s one reason she so often shows us a Man in agony on a cross. I don’t delight in others’ pain, but I’m not scared into silence by the fear someone somewhere will take offense.

 

milo_mocking-evidence-based

 

And, finally…

The Vatican has launched a commission to examine and overhaul the Holy See’s media communications strategy. If you could give any advice to Pope Francis about how to do journalism today, what would it be?

Stop talking.

My reaction:

 

Anyway, I’ll leave the original article here for anyone who wants to read the rest. There’s a couple of inappropriate comments, but I just shrug and leave it be. I’m already accustomed to Milo’s dark humour. If it lets him sleep at night, that’s fine, I suppose. One day, I think, this will come all crashing down on Milo and he’s going to have to deal with the wreckage of his personal life choices. From reading in between the lines and seeing his body language, I am pretty sure he already is. I pray that he’ll someday be saved by Our Saviour, like he says he hopes he will. Many people I know believe that Milo only says this for show. I, however, believe him.

 


Anna Elizabeth is currently enrolled in a Bachelor Education degree and is trying not to have midlife (younglife?) crises over the fact that life is confusing. (She blames the personal essays and the fact that half of her courses are trying to get her to explain who she is as a person.)

Leave a Reply

