alternative music · Halsey · music

Anna’s Favourites Day 10: Halsey

(H will be another letter with at least one more post, if not two.)

 

rs-227743-R1255_QnA_Halsey_A_

 

1. What draws me to this particular artist’s music?

There’s this sound to Halsey’s music that I don’t know how else to describe but to use the word grunge, since it makes me think of the texture. I just really love her entire sound because it speaks to my soul in a certain way – the #darkaesthetic part of me that likes dystopia, politics, and exploring the psychology of sin (another reason why I’m finally reading The Brothers Karamazov now). Some of her lyrics are a little questionable, she dresses indecently, and she has a music video I don’t approve of (“Ghost”), but I ignore particular songs and salvage the rest.


2. Which is my favourite album or EP from this artist?

Badlands, definitely. But I’m looking forward to hopeless fountain kingdom!
3. What is my favourite song from this artist?

My favourites are all below except for “Castle” and “Drive.”
4a. Which song best describes my past?

“Gasoline” (ignore the one instance of language at the beginning and later on), “Control,” and “Young God” – the first and third especially. However, while I think the mood of “Young Gods” is supposed to be hopeful, I always saw it as completely opposite – desperate, destructive, and falling deeper into Hell (my view of Badland‘s overall mood is one of Inferno, really).

You can’t wake up, this is not a dream,
You’re part of a machine, you are not a human being,
With your face all made up, living on a screen,
Low on self-esteem, so you run on gasoline.

I think there’s a flaw in my code.
These voices won’t leave me alone.
4b. Which song best describes my life right now?

Maybe “Garden”? (Most of Halsey’s songs are all so desperate they don’t really work.)
4c. Which song best describes I want my future to be like?

Hmmm, I think “Empty Gold” could work.
5. Which song best describes my #aesthetic?
“New Americana” because I’m more than a slightly obsessed with dystopia and how the future will be (probably either 1984-style or machines controlling us, in my opinion).

A year ago, I would have probably said “Eyes Closed” if the song had existed.

Leave a Reply

